Jul 14, 2008


~ Mitsubishi Ralliart Evolution Challenge – Round 5 Preview ~
Swansea Bay Rally – 19th July 2008

  • Battle for Mitsubishi Championship hots up.
  • One point separates four drivers.
  • Nine Evo Challenge teams go head-to-head on classic Welsh stages.

With only one point separating the top four drivers in the championship standings: Daniel Barry, David Bogie, Richard Cathcart and Nik Elsmore, the fifth round of this year’s Mitsubishi Ralliart Evolution Challenge, the Swansea Bay Rally on 19th July, is destined to produce an exciting battle for supremacy.

With cars in the Evolution Challenge strictly controlled to comply with Group N regulations, all are similar in performance and with so many drivers of equal pace registered for this year’s series, 2008 has so far produced the closest competition yet. In fact, with four rounds already run and three to go, only five points separates the top six!

The Swansea Bay Rally also hosts round five of the Pirelli MSA Gravel Rally Championship and sees a total entry of 36 cars, nine of which are Evolution Challenge competitors, a figure which represents 25% of the National field.

Starting and finishing from the rapidly developing area of SA1, the event features six timed special stages comprising 64 competitive miles in forests that are visited by the WRC teams during the Wales Rally GB: Margam, Rhondda, Resolven and Walters Arena.

Notes To Editors:

The 2008 Mitsubishi Ralliart Evolution Challenge is backed by Mitsubishi Motors UK and Ralliart, with support from its associate sponsors: Pirelli tyres, Speedline Corse wheels, Sparco racewear, Performance Friction Brakes, Sunoco Race Fuels, ADR Motorsport, Walkinshaw Performance and PIAA lights, who sponsor the junior award for under 25 year old drivers.

Mitsubishi Ralliart Evolution Challenge - Round Five, Entries in start number order

7 David Bogie (Dumfries)/Kevin Rae (Hawick) J
8 Richard Cathcart (Enniskillen)/Martin Brady (Navan)
9 Daniel Barry (Enniskerry)/Mark Bowens (Cork) J
10 Nik Elsmore (Coleford)/Paul Wakeley (Llanelli)
11 Neil McCance (Comber)/Graham Hopewell (Worcester)            
12 Keith Cronin (Cork)/Greg Shinnors (Limerick) J
20 Miles Johnston (York)/Ian Bevan (Holywell)         
21 Jonathan Sparks (Glastonbury)/Chris Davies (Abergavenny)
22 Thomas Naughton (Bury)/Horace Saville (Bury) 

J = Junior driver

Championship Positions after round four

Pos.            Name                          Points

1            Daniel Barry                        28
2            Richard Cathcart                 28
3            David Bogie                         27
4            Nik Elsmore                         27
5            Keith Cronin                        24
6            Neil McCance                      23
7            Miles Johnston                    13
8            Jonathan Sparks                 12
9            Seb Ling                               8
10          Jonny Greer                          7